Wednesday, September 1, 2010

I should put the car keys away

I had another fender-bender this morning. In my own driveway. With my neighbour's boyfriend"s car. We were both leaving the parking lot and I thought he had gone. Once I heard the crunch I knew what had happened..again.

I don't know how to tell DH. Today wasn't a good day because he came home angry about some of his pills that he went to pick up, and they were not there. Always better to stay out of the way when he is angry, no sense adding fuel to the fire.

This is the third incident in as many months. In two cases I was backing up and just didn't see the other car until I made contact. My car being a big SUV never got any damage to talk about, but the other cars got bent fenders. Nothing serious, mind you, and back in the day these dents could be pulled out.

Now cars are made of plastic and you have to pay for 1/2 a car just to get a dent taken care of. I have had a spotless driver record and because we drove two paid-for old cars, the insurance was very low. Now, DH had to take out a loan to get his car a few months ago, this meant getting comprehensive insurance for his vehicle, mine was still liability.

So I am not looking forward to telling him about this mishap. Oh the cops came, I straightened out the insurance company, and the kid I hit would have the dent taken care of.

But now I am afraid to drive. I look upon the little fender-benders as an Awful Warning that Next Time It May Be Much Worse and I better heed the message.

I never go anywhere but work on the weekends and my appointments, so I should be able to get lifts. My daughter always said it was way too much car for me to handle but I loved being up high and having lots of car around me if I get in an accident.

Problem is, when I back up or out, I can't really see too well and I end up beating up the little cars while my car just gets a scratch on the bumper. I throw my hands up in the air

No comments:

Post a Comment