Friday, March 19, 2010

Standing in Line...not weight related :)


The bank I go to is a branch and has no drive up window so I have to make the monstrous effort to get out of my car, walk in and stand in The Line. Because it's Friday there were plenty of people waiting. Then it occurred to me to notice the unwritten rules about standing in line (especially in banks, government places etc).

Number one is never to openly stare at anyone (unless there's something shocking for all to see,lol) You stare at the wall, the ceiling, to both sides and notice people coming and going out the sides of your eyes. There is always a "personal bubble" to observe, ie, how close you stand to people so nobody invades anybody elses's space.

No looking behind unless there is general talk about the long wait, where are the tellers etc. Then you can chime in and complain too.

If you cough (as I did today, fighting a cold at present) it is always good to have a cough drop. That way the ones around you understand that you realise you have something catching and are doing what you can to keep them germ-free.

That being said, it is permissible for cough drops, gum and maybe even water ( discretely sipped, especially on a hot day) to be consumed in The Line. No food unless you want people to stare at you strangely. Of course all bets are off when there are children to control, so long as they don't annoy the others with it.

Then there is the Stand and Vacant Stare, especially with a longer wait. Shift your weight from foot to foot to broadcast your annoyance at the long wait. Others will be doing the same thing especially if there are ones trying to cash their cheques in their lunch half-hour.

Once you get your business done gather your things and quickly make your way to the exit. Don't forget to look at the long line of people still waiting as you go. You're all done, neener, neener, they still have to wait, neener, neener 8^D

No wonder I just prefer to wait at the drive-up...but then there are a whole bunch of Unwritten Rules for that line too :D

1 comment: