Monday, December 13, 2010

Terrible weekend food-wise

Right now I am eating a piece of fruitcake. Yes you read correctly. Gene just can in bringing a small slab of Hostess fruitcake. When I read the calories, 1/4 of the cake was 420 calories. Why do I keep shooting myself in the foot like this. No matter what anybody brings in this house, I need to be able to stare it in the eye and say "no".

The only redeeming thing is that I just rode my recumbent bike for 20 minutes but that was only 120 calories. I figure I have at least 200 calories here.

Let me see. I got an operation to reduce the size of my stomach and I should be going slowly down in weight if I stick to what they say. I have grown cocky over the past week or two. Nothing has happened when I eat a no-no. No pain in the stomach, no indigestion, no throwing up. So I have grown bolder and bolder and I am defeating the purpose of the whole thing.

Mind you the band around my stomach is slack and won't be filled until the New Year. Maybe this is why I can eat when I shouldn't.  Maybe the doctor wants me to have a nice Christmas (read eating what I want)  before a full stop is put to all this extra food I am eating. All I know is, by the time I see the dietition I better be under 265lbs. Tomorrow there is a support meeting for banders/bypass patients at 6 and I need to be there. Maybe something will get said that will knock some sense into my head.

I said I would write all here, the good and the bad, the successes and the failures, the highs and lows that I  go through. I never said I was perfect and I went into this with my eyes completely open. Should I get a few extra dollars I will get some powdered Slimfast and do the two shakes/one meal thing and try to balance the calories out.

I have this terrible habit of up-ending the chocolate syrup bottle (they make chocolate shakes around here) and just squirting some into my mouth. Well I read the calories...2tbs = 100 calories. And I KNOW that mouthful was much larger than 2 tbs so that is out as of last night. I do the same thing whenever there is a can of whipped cream in the fridge (and I know I am not alone!!!)

I will eat a diet meal tonight. I need my portions laid out for me. If I help myself I am far too generous and end up with much more than I should have on my plate   : /

5 comments:

  1. Hi Linda, sorry to hear you haven't found the No-no's yet, I thought it was immediate when you ate something your body couldn't stand. Yes will power IS needed, try to find an alternative to the junky stuff, I found the food magazine cooking light helped me ALOT, especially those "treats" problem is, you HAVE to show a little restraint when you bake up 24 chocolate drop cookies at one time, I actually froze them, took two in for work as a snack and at break time they were defrosted....
    also as a treat, coffee or tea No sugar or milk with them...
    and enjoy the break, you know, no woofing down and running off to do something else...
    I found concentrating on flavors REALLY helped...
    I am pretty sure you can snag a few cooking light mags for next to nothing as a flea market (even better they did publish a cookbook $25 new probably 5 or 10 cheap)
    Good Luck,

    Ian in Calgary

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh Ian I am so happy to hear from you and thanks for all the good and sensible advice. If I stayed up your way I would have no probs as I could sneak some diet treats from your plate if I got there before Ms Penguin Aloma,lol. Yes I must try harder. I didn't feel good after I ate that fruitcake and it wasn't even the good Bermuda rock kind!!! I am going to a support group tomorrow at 6pm if I can get myself out the door, hehehe

    ReplyDelete
  3. My dh and I have developed (he more than I) the mantra of, "no, it's not good for me." Plus the guilt you feel afterwards isn't the greatest, either. As for the diet shakes, try the Walmart brand, they taste just as good as the name brand. Does it make you feel better that my bingeing caused me 7lbs last week and now I'm kicking myself? Feeling quite uncomfortable right now... pick yourself up and start over immediately with the next meal! xo

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi Catmommie thanks for dropping by and commenting!! I will definitely try Walmart's shakes because I like making one at night and freezing it like ice cream (best we can do huh). I am so sorry you gained 7lbs but I know how easy it is to do and Christmas is not a good time to have to restrict our eating with all the goodies around!!! I have just decided I will do what I can, eat some things but not gorge myself well I can try anyway....after the New Year we can all get down to serious business and think of our summer shorts!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is the best stuff EVER for what your doing. I myself am getting this procedure done and have BPII along with anxiety, depression, BPD, diabetes, hypothyroidism, etc... So reading your blog is a help to me.

    ReplyDelete